## D. Ethan Kimbrel, Commissioner

D. Ethan Kimbrel was appointed to the Illinois Commerce Commission by Governor Bruce Rauner on January 19, 2018 to a five year term.

Commissioner Kimbrel is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), sits on NARUC's Committee on International Relations, and is the Chair of the Committee on Gas and the Vice Chair of the Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the Organization of PJM States, Inc. (OPSI) and is a member of OPSI's Market Monitoring Advisory Committee as well as the Vice Chair of the Independent State Agencies Committee. Additionally, Commissioner Kimbrel is a member of the NARUC-DOE (U.S. Department of Energy) Natural Gas Partnership (NGP), the NARUC-NASEO (National Association of State Energy Officials) Microgrid State Working Group, and is on the Board of Advisors for the Institute for Regulatory Policy Studies (IRPS) at Illinois State University.

Prior to being appointed as Commissioner, Kimbrel served as the Commission's Chief Administrative Law Judge for nearly three years. In that role, he advised the Administrative Law Judges on questions of law and procedure and reviewed their decisions for legal and factual accuracy and clarity in various electric, natural gas, water, sewer and telecommunications cases initiated by the Commission, regulated public utilities, consumers and other stakeholders in Illinois. He also oversaw the Chief Clerk's Office and administrative staff. Preceding his position as Chief Administrative Law Judge, Kimbrel served as a Commission Administrative Law Judge for seven years.

Before joining the Commission, Kimbrel practiced in the area of personal injury, appellate, malpractice and commercial litigation. He also served as a judicial law clerk for the Honorable Leslie E. South in the Illinois Appellate Court, First District, Fourth Division.

Commissioner Kimbrel received his law degree from George Washington University and holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Chicago.